Books: Better Safe Than Sorry

posted in: Books | 0

My collection of books by Mike Martin grew to one more recently with the addition of the book Better Safe Than Sorry, the 14th book in the mystery series about Sgt. Winston Windflower.

Better Safe Than Sorry by Mike Martin

Sgt. Windflower is now the community safety officer for Grand Bank in Newfoundland. He has retired from the Mounties, but is he truly happy in his new role? He is successful in this new job, but does he want a bit more?

Better Safe Than Sorry by Mike Martin

A new lethal drug, Green Monsters, is spreading rapidly across Newfoundland and other provinces. Windflower in his community officer role attempts to get the word out about how unsafe this drug is.

Better Safe Than Sorry by Mike Martin

Tizzard, now acting Inspector, is facing all sorts of challenges, and this new drug is just one of them. He doesn’t want the responsibility or stress of running the detachment. He loves his family, and has just found out that Carrie is expecting their second child.

The new drug, a death, and the wrong body in a coffin are some of the challenges facing him. Morale is low in the detachment which leads to Tizzard requesting more help.

Better Safe Than Sorry by Mike Martin

Windflower takes on an unofficial position to assist with the work involving the latest drug. Sheila isn’t really happy about this, and before he takes on a temporary position he needs to get her approval.

Better Safe Than Sorry by Mike Martin

A lot of thought goes into the offer of a new permanent position with the Mounties. Will he accept the terms?

I love reading about Winston’s family, his indigenous culture, his pets, his friends, his love of good food, and there is always a quote from famous people to go with each situation.

Close calls, his understanding of the people, his love of being a Mountie, and the fact that everyone works together to tackle this situation, makes this a great read. It is the perfect example of the quote “There is no I in team”

I prefer to read books in the order they are written to get familiar with the people and places. This book can certainly be read without knowing the rest of the series, but I think you will be hooked and want to read all of them.

Better Safe Than Sorry by Mike Martin

Thanks Mike for giving me the opportunity to read and review this book. If it isn’t on your reading list, you need to add it and move it to the top. I highly recommend this series by a Canadian author and set in one of Canada’s most beautiful provinces.

Sgt Windflower mystery series by Mike Martin

Sgt. Windflower Books:

  1. The Body on the T
  2. The Walker on the Cape
  3. Beneath the Surface
  4. A Twist of Fortune
  5. A Long Ways from Home
  6. A Tangled Web
  7. Darkest Before Dawn
  8. Fire Fog and Water
  9. A Perfect Storm
  10. Safe Harbour
  11. Buried Secrets
  12. Dangerous Waters
  13. All That Glitters
  14. Better Safe Than Sorry

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *