Books: A Perfect Storm

posted in: Books | 7

I seems I’ve been eagerly awaiting the next book in the Sgt Windflower series by Mike Martin for ages and I’m never disappointed when I finally get my copy of it. It was a good mail day last week when it arrived in the mailbox.

A Perfect Storm by Mike Martin

The 9th book in this series is set in Grand Bank, Newfoundland. I really enjoy a story that gets you hooked right at the beginning .. and this one does just that. The books also show you that small towns can have all the undercurrents of crime, from drugs, to gangs, to violence.

A Perfect Storm by Mike Martin

Eddie Tizzard is in Las Vegas to do some private investigator training. If you remember from the last book he is considering leaving the RCMP and setting up his own detective business. Unfortunately for Tizzard he comes across a body and ends up in jail. And it get worse before it gets better.

What is that saying, What happens in Vegas, stays in Vegas. Well in this case what happens in Vegas finds its way to Grand Bank.

A Perfect Storm by Mike Martin

Meanwhile Sgt. Windflower is out on routine inspections and ends up falling down an old mine shaft. Injuries force him to slow down and reflect on his life. But he doesn’t like to slow down and finds ways to still be at work.

Sgt. Windflower series by Mike Martin

All the events get intertwined and the RCMP end up investigating a meth crisis involving gangs. Along the way there are accidents, deaths, raids, and arrests.

A family death has Windflower, Sheila and Amelia Louise returning to northern Alberta for a short time and Windflower looks for guidance through his dreams.

I just love a cozy mystery and I know you will really enjoy this series too. With each book it is like going home to be with the family. In this case it is Windflower, Tizzard, Betsy, Sheila, Amelia Louise, the Doc, Herb and others.

Changes are coming to the RCMP detachment and to Windflower and Sheila’s family life. I can’t wait for the next book in the series.

Sgt Windflower mystery series by Mike Martin

Sgt. Windflower Books:

  1. The Body on the T
  2. The Walker on the Cape
  3. Beneath the Surface
  4. A Twist of Fortune
  5. A Long Ways from Home
  6. A Tangled Web
  7. Darkest Before Dawn
  8. Fire Fog and Water
  9. A Perfect Storm
  10. Safe Harbour
  11. Buried Secrets
  12. Dangerous Waters
  13. All That Glitters
  14. Better Safe Than Sorry
book reviews at

More book reviews.

7 Responses

  1. Nicola

    I took a look at my library website just now and they only seem to have two of the books. I have placed a hold on Walker on the Cape to give Mr Martin a try!

  2. Jennifer Jilks

    I don’t know if you were the one who wrote about this series, I read a lot of them. I think I passed them on to the little library nearby. I can’t remember which ones I’ve read! I’m getting old!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *