Books: Dangerous Waters

posted in: Books | 5

The rain was pouring down the day the mail carrier delivered the 12th book in the Sgt. Windflower mystery series by Mike Martin. A perfect day for the book to arrive.

Sgt Windflower mystery series by Mike Martin

I was eagerly awaiting the delivery of the latest book in this series. A rainy day and reading. Perfect.

Sgt Windflower mystery series by Mike Martin

There are now 12 books in this wonderful series set in Newfoundland and written by Canadian author Mike Martin.

Sgt Windflower mystery series by Mike Martin

Sgt. Winston Windflower, a Cree from northern Alberta, was an RCMP officer stationed in Grand Bank, Newfoundland. I say was as in this book he has recently retired from the force and is working at updating and improving the bed and breakfast he owns with his wife Sheila in the hopes of having it open soon.

Sgt Windflower mystery series by Mike Martin

You will feel part of Winston and Sheila’s family as you read about the antics of Amelia Louise and Stella and then there is Eddie Tizzard, now married to Carrie with a little son Hughie, and the other characters in the books. And of course you will feel part of the company that gathers to share the good food.

Sgt Windflower mystery series by Mike Martin

A group of strangers gets stranded during a snow storm, and Winston agrees to open the B&B ahead of schedule to give them a place to stay. The book also shows how the town people all pull together in a crisis. Tizzard, now temporarily in charge of the RCMP detachment, is swamped by the storm, a death which leads to some smuggling, and a shortage of officers. Winston finds it hard to distance himself from the RCMP and when offered the chance of a special assignment he feels this is a way he can stay involved and help uncover a group of smugglers.

Sgt Windflower mystery series by Mike Martin

Saint Pierre, an island that is a French territory off the coast of Newfoundland, is the destination for a shopping trip for Sheila and some undercover work for Winston. Shady dealings on the ferry ride lead to investigations and arrest.

Rumours are spreading about the closure of the local RCMP office, which does not sit well with the town residents. Questions arise and the town is forced to look at alternative measures for policing.

Sgt Windflower mystery series by Mike Martin

I thoroughly enjoyed this book and highly recommend it for your reading list. I prefer to read a series in order to become familiar with the characters and the settings. Any of the books can be read as a stand alone book. But once you read one, you will want to read all of them from the beginning. Thanks Mike for giving me the opportunity to read and review this book. I hope there is more coming in this series.

Sgt Windflower mystery series by Mike Martin

Sgt. Windflower Books:

  1. The Body on the T
  2. The Walker on the Cape
  3. Beneath the Surface
  4. A Twist of Fortune
  5. A Long Ways from Home
  6. A Tangled Web
  7. Darkest Before Dawn
  8. Fire Fog and Water
  9. A Perfect Storm
  10. Safe Harbour
  11. Buried Secrets
  12. Dangerous Waters
  13. All That Glitters
book reviews at

More book reviews.

5 Responses

  1. Jennifer Jilks

    I’m so glad you announced this! I have enjoyed his books, thank to you!
    (ツ) from Cottage Country Ontario, ON, Canada!

  2. Debbie-Dabble

    Sounds interesting!! Thanks so much for sharing!! Thanks too for taking the time to visit!!

  3. Margy

    Thanks for introducing me to Mike Martin’s books. I’ve enjoyed every one of them. My collection has transferred to Kindle versions so I don’t have such a colourful shelf in my library. Kindles are so much easier for us to use during our travels and life up the lake. – Margy

Comments are closed.