Books: All That Glitters

posted in: Books | 2

My collection of books by Mike Martin grew to one more recently with the addition of the book All That Glitters, the 13th book in the mystery series about Sgt. Winston Windflower.

Thank you for reading this post, don't forget to subscribe!
All That Glitters a Sgt. Windflower mystery series by Canadian author Mike Martin

I always eagerly await to arrival of the latest book in the series to get re-acquainted with the characters and location of the books. The series is set in and around Grand Bank, Newfoundland. I prefer to read a series in order to become familiar with the characters and the settings. But any of the books can be read as a stand alone book. But once you read one, you will want to read all of them.

All That Glitters a Sgt. Windflower mystery series by Canadian author Mike Martin

This book sees Winston Windflower about to take over the roll of Community Safety Officer after recently retiring from the RCMP.

A body is found in the bed and breakfast that he and his wife Sheila own. Before you know it Winston is back sleuthing along side Eddie Tizzard, now an acting inspector to find out how this person died.

Good friend Dr. Sanjay performs an autopsy on the dead man and discovers diamonds. When he is kidnapped because of this Winston gets more involved. It seems he just can’t give up the RCMP.

The diamond smuggling appears to be solved but it just keeps popping up again and again, along with some murders. Winston gets involved in some undercover work putting himself in real danger. Sheila is against his involvement, but reluctantly goes along with it.

I got a good chuckle when a reference was made to the blue licence plates that Ontario tried to bring in. No sooner had they been released than they were recalled as they couldn’t be read in the dark. Another failed thing introduced by the Ontario Conservative Premier … along with buck a beer, blue licence plates, clearing waiting list for Autistic children, not touching the Greenbelt etc etc etc You get what you vote for and I certainly did not vote for him.

All That Glitters a Sgt. Windflower mystery series by Canadian author Mike Martin

This story involved diamond smuggling, kidnapping, murder and danger balanced out with delicious food, good friends, and family life. Throughout this book Winston tries to improve his relationship with Molly the cat. He gets on famously with Lady, his dog, but Molly has always been aloof to him. Dreams that Winston has might give some of the answer and the bond between man and cat slowly improves.

I love reading about Winston’s family and the antics the girls get up to. This was a well written book and I hope there are more in the series. Thanks Mike for giving me the opportunity to read and review this book. If it isn’t on your reading list, you need to add it and move it to the top. I highly recommend this series by a Canadian author and set in one of Canada’s most beautiful provinces.

Sgt Windflower mystery series by Mike Martin

Sgt. Windflower Books:

  1. The Body on the T
  2. The Walker on the Cape
  3. Beneath the Surface
  4. A Twist of Fortune
  5. A Long Ways from Home
  6. A Tangled Web
  7. Darkest Before Dawn
  8. Fire Fog and Water
  9. A Perfect Storm
  10. Safe Harbour
  11. Buried Secrets
  12. Dangerous Waters
  13. All That Glitters
book reviews at

More book reviews.

[mailerlite_form form_id=1]

2 Responses

  1. Margy

    Thanks to you I discovered this wonderful author and series of books. I just finished reading All that Glitters on my Kindle sitting on the float cabin deck. We subscribe to Kindle Unlimited and Mike has added his books to this extensive list of reading options. – Margy

Comments are closed.