Books: Death on Demand

posted in: Books | 1

Death on Demand is a mystery book store owned by Annie Darling on the island of Broward’s Rock.  This is a great mystery series by Carolyn Hart.  I believe there are 26 books in the series so far, the first being published in 1987.

Death on Demand series by Carolyn Hart

Over several years I’ve been reading this series and have read most but a few of the earlier ones. You can see the list of books at Goodreads.

Death on Demand series by Carolyn Hart

In Dead by Midnight, which is the 21st book in the series, Annie suspects a recent death that appears to be suicide was murder.  Annie and her husband Max delve into this mystery and find several clues that the police seemed to have missed.  The regular characters and places in the series are featured in this book – Laurel who is Max’s mother, Agatha the bookstore cat, Dorothy L the house cat, Henny and Emma are the mystery experts, Hyla the policewoman, Billy the policeman and Ingrid who works in the bookstore.

First Pat is found dead and it seems it will be ruled a suicide.  Pat was recently let go from the law firm and Annie gave her a part time job at the bookstore.  Kirk (law firm partner) has also been let go from the law firm. Later Glen is found dead. Annie starts to link the deaths together and works on solving this mystery.

Death on Demand series by Carolyn Hart

I enjoy this series.  Throughout the books various other mystery authors are mentioned with suggestions for other books to read.

If you are going to read this series I would recommend to try and start them in order so that you can follow the progression of Annie and Max’s relationship, the contests at the bookstore, and get acquainted with Broward’s Rock and its residents.

Death on Demand series by Carolyn Hart

Time to join:

book reviews at

More book reviews.

Comments are closed.